Lupe Fiasco’s album exceed expectations

Lupe Fiascos album exceed expectations

Gabby Joseph, Copy Editor

Lupe Fiasco chose his featured artists on his new album “Lasers” correctly because he put together a fabulous album.

Fiasco’s album dropped on March 8. The album features songs with Skylar Grey, MDMA, Trey Songz, and John Legend. Fiasco combines upbeat songs with slow ones to create a well-balanced album. “Letting Go” featuring Sarah Green, “Never Forget You,” featuring John Legend, and “Break the Chain,” featuring Eric Turner and Sway are a few of the slow songs.

The background melodies incorporated with piano pieces complement these slow songs.  “Letting Go” has such beautiful lyrics that helps you relax, as the first line of the refrain, “Sometimes I get out of control.” The other slow songs on the album have an easygoing feel as well. Fiasco uses heavy piano sections in “Till I Get There,” which I highly recommend and “Coming Up” featuring MDMA. “Coming Up” is only decent and can be skipped.

Fiasco goes more traditional with “Words I Never Said” featuring Skylar Grey by rapping and Grey sings.  It’s similar to “Airplanes” by B.o.B and Haley Williams.

The first single off of the album, “The Show Goes On,” has a great music video. Fiasco makes the song easy to love.

“State Run Radio” and “All Black Everything” are two more songs to catch. ”State Run Radio” nicely combines singing and rap sections to make a beautiful song, which has a nice soft singingsection in the middle. “All Black Everything” sounds like any other rap song.

Three great songs off the album are “I Don’t Wanna Care Right Now” featuring MDMA, “Out of My Head,” featuring Trey Songz, and “Beautiful Lasers,” featuring MDMA. All of these songs are upbeat, easy to listen to, and fun for dancing. Fiasco’s new album “Lasers” blends upbeat and slow songs perfectly. I would definitely recommend “Lasers” to anyone who likes pop music.

Gabby Joseph is a Copy Editor for “The Patriot” and