The class of 2017 receives senior awards


Paige Alban

The finalists for the men’s Black and Gold award pose together. Seniors Edward Benner, Nick Hinke, Caleb Olsen, and Daniel Robinson (left to right). The winner will be announced on Wednesday, May 24.

On May 18, graduating seniors and several juniors were presented awards at the Senior Awards Ceremony, which was held in the auditorium. Listed below are the individual award winners.

Senatorial Scholarships from Senator J.B. Jennings of the Seventh District – Brooke Hare, Adria Pirozzi, Darius Pirozzi, Ianna Pirozzi

Maryland House of Delegates Scholarship – Adria Pirozzi, Ianna Pirozzi, Brooke Hare

University of Maryland Extension Harford County 4-H Horse Council Scholarship – Mary Olsen

Harford County Task Force Scholarship – Pia Scotto DiCarlo

Harford County Master Gardeners $500 Scholarships – Erica Deyesu

The Bel Air Rotary Club Scholarship – Anna Smith

Bel Air Council of the Knights of Columbus: The Frank DeAngelo Award – Caleb Olsen

The Bishop Murphy Peace Prize – Elaina Bonner

Eagle of the Cross Award – Anna Smith and Caleb Olsen

US Figure Skating – Beth Sapitowicz

The Prudential Spirit of Community Award – Sahil Menon

2017 Carson Scholars – Kirstin Huggins and Sahil Menon

SGA Awards Leadership – Emma Gromacki and Zachary Miller

SGA Unsung Hero Award – Megan King and Nick Rosaschi

Senior Class Officers – Zachary Miller, Laura Miller, and Megan King

SGA Officers – Emma Gromacki, Caroline Cooney, and Anna Kotula

Top 5% in their graduating class recognized by the State of Maryland:
Ianna Pirozzi
Nick Hinke
Edward Benner
Emily Stancliff
Beth Sapitowicz
Erin McCaughey
Young Rae (Anthony) Kim
Adria Pirozzi

Perfect Attendance:
Eryn Roach (9,10)
Anna Smith (9,10)
Shelby Umbarger (9,10)
Darius Pirozzi (9,11,12)

C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Athletic Service Award – Charlotte Haggerty and Daniel Robinson

Al Cesky Scholarship – Charlotte Haggerty and Nicholas Hinke

The McCormick Unsung Hero Award – Emily Stancliff and Nick Rosaschi

Religion Medal – Caleb Olsen

English Medal – Edward Benner

Mathematics Medal – Jaeik (Jake) Sa

Science Medal – Yena Kim

Social Studies Medal – Grace Mottley

The Jim Chrismer Excellence US History Award – Ryan Griffin

Spanish Medal – Nick Hinke

French Medal – Erin McCaughey

German Medal – Elizabeth Butz

Chinese Medal – Anthony Magwood, JR

The TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) Medal – Lanxiang (Sonny) Hu

Vocal and Instrumental Music Medal – Anna Smith

The Theater Arts Award – Zachary Miller

Yearbook Award – Mary Doud and Esther Peters

The Patriot Award – Caroline Cooney

The Pinnacle Medal – Brooke Hare and Shelby Umbarger

The Visual Arts Award – Delaney Link

The Speech and Debate Award – Grace Mottley

Class of 2017 Service and Outreach Award – Emily Schiavone

The Gerry Gray Award – Sara Dieter and Ryan Waugh

The Michael B. Brady White Cap Award – Angela Miceli

The Mrs. Patti Murphy Dohn Character Award – Anna Smith

The Ed Miller Award – Anthony Magwood, JR

The Judith Resnik Award – Natalie Majerik

The Sigma Xi (Zi) Scientific Research Society Award – Andrew Boeren

The Rensselaer Medal Award – Isabella Brooke

The John Carroll awards for School Spirit Award – Pia Scotto DiCarlo and Zachary Miller

Academic and Athletic Achievement Award – Charlotte Haggerty, Adria Pirozzi, and Ryan Waugh

Academic and Fine Arts Achievement Award – Beth Sapitowicz and Eric Ashton

James E. Long Award – Sarah Meyerl and Steven Glenn

The John Carroll School Faculty Award – Emily Stancliff and Edward Benner

Salutatorian – Nick Hinke

Valedictorian – Ianna Pirozzi

Paige Alban is an In-Focus Editor for The Patriot and